Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting 2019

Finland holds the Chairmanship of the Arctic Council in 2017–2019. The Ministerial Meeting in Rovaniemi on 7 May 2019 will mark the end of Finland's Arctic Council Chairmanship. Media accreditation for the Ministerial Meeting has ended.

The Arctic Council promotes sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic. Ministerial Meetings are organised every other year on average.

Finland took over the Chairmanship in 2017 and will pass it on to Iceland at the Ministerial Meeting to be held in Rovaniemi on 7 May 2019. The Foreign Ministers of the eight Arctic States and the Permanent Participants representing Arctic indigenous peoples have been invited to attend the meeting.

Delegates will sign the Rovaniemi Declaration, adopt the Arctic Council's strategic plan of action, approve the Working Groups' annual reports, and set guidelines for their work.

The eight Arctic States are Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States.

The six Permanent Participants representing Arctic indigenous peoples are the Aleut International Association (AIA), the Arctic Athabaskan Council (AAC), the Gwich’in Council International (GCI), the Inuit Circumpolar Conference (ICC), the Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON) and the Saami Council (SC).

Media accreditation

Accreditation has ended. 

Accreditation is personal and not transferable to anyone else. Accredited media representatives will be sent more information about the meeting arrangements, including collection of badges, after the accreditation period has closed.

The accreditation badges will be collected from Hotel Pohjanhovi in Rovaniemi starting on Sunday 5 May.

Special programme for media representatives

Registration for pool positions on the day of the meeting on 7 May and possible other media events (such as photo opportunities) will be open closer to the date of the meeting. There will be photo opportunities starting on Monday 6 May.

All accredited media representatives will be sent more information about the timetables, for example, to the email address provided in the request for accreditation.

There may be a limited number of places available in these events.

The special programme for foreign journalists covering the meeting in Rovaniemi will start on Sunday 5 May. There will be visits to companies and background briefing events, for instance. You can tick the special programme events you wish to attend when filling in the accreditation form.

The programme (in English) is appended to this notice. Please note that some of the events have a limited amount of space and that participants will be accepted in the order of registration.

Media programme 5th-6th May Rovaniemi (Opens New Window)

Media centre at Lappi Areena

On Tuesday 7 May 2019, accredited journalists may work and cover the meeting at the media centre set up at the meeting venue, Lappi Areena.

We will provide shuttle bus service running between Rovaniemi city centre and the meeting venue. More detailed information on the routes and timetables will be provided later. Please note that arriving at the venue using a private car or a taxi is not permitted.

If you are using a broadcast vehicle or more heavy-duty recording equipment, etc., please bring it to the media centre on the afternoon of Monday 6 May by 18.00.

At security checks, a photo ID and a valid press card must be presented.

Arrival and accommodation

Rooms have been reserved for journalists at Scandic Hotel Pohjanhovi. Please note that hotel space in Rovaniemi is limited, which is why we recommend that you reserve your room soon, by 19 April at the very latest.

We will organise transportation from Rovaniemi airport to the city centre on 5 and 6 May and back to the airport on the afternoon of 7 May. A more detailed timetable will be sent later.

The Ministry for Foreign Affairs will not cover the costs arising from accommodation or travel expenses.

If you need a visa, please contact your nearest mission of Finland.

More information

Media accreditation: 
Miia Vihola, Communications Assistant, tel. +358 40 5908 741

Special programme for media representatives:
Outi Koskinen, Communications Officer, tel. +358 40 510 7515

Services at the media centre:
Vesa Häkkinen, Director of Unit, tel. +358 40 481 9880

Finland's Arctic Chairmanship:

Inquiries: René Söderman, Senior Arctic Official, tel. + 358 295 351 742

The Arctic Council: to another website.)

The Arctic Council Secretariat: to another website.)
Inquiries: Kristina Baer, Communications Officer, tel. + 47 911 203 70

Visa to Finland:

Hotel Pohjanhovi: to another website.)
Pohjanpuistikko 2, Rovaniemi

Tourist information: to another website.)
tel. +358 15 346 270

Lappi Areena:
Hiihtomajantie 6, 96400 Rovaniemi to another website.)