Passport and Notarial Services Unit

Passport and Notarial Services Unit is responsible for:

Travel documents 

  • guidance and coordination of passport issues at Finnish missions abroad and development of the passport system
  • decisions on service passports, processing of applications for diplomatic passports, and acquisition of visas for duty travel related to the branch of activities of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs
  • approval of foreign travel documents.

Notarial services and elections

  • voting abroad in Finland’s national elections
  • certificates issued for foreign authorities in accordance with the Act on Notary Public
  • guidance and coordination of notarial services at Finnish missions
  • international requests for legal assistance
  • acquisition of a document concerning a person or an address from abroad only for a specific reason
  • vessel and population registers and matters relating to military service and citizenship. 

Judicial and legislative affairs associated with the Unit’s responsibilities, including expert and executive assistance and provision of advice.

Customer service

Customer service hours and visiting address, see Contact information (Opens New Window)

Legalisation of documents

Diplomatic and service passports, visas for duty travel
Tel. 0295 351 080, 0295 351 085, 0295 351 065

Acquisition of documents and contact details from abroad

Advice on passports




  • +358 295 160 01


Leena Ritola
  • +358 295 351 524
Tuomas Alatalo
Administrative Officer
consular services
  • +358 295 351 065
Aino Möltsi
Administrative Officer
consular services
  • +358 295 351 080
Päivi Pukero
Administrative Officer
consular services
  • +358 295 351 085
Riitta Puukka
Desk Officer
  • +358 295 350 428
Tia Puumalainen
Desk Officer
Päivi Syrjäsuo
Desk Officer
Passports and other travel documents
  • +358 295 351 092
Juha Hakkarainen
Project Officer
Risto Rantala
Project Officer
Matias Salo
Desk Officer
  • +358 295 350 283

E-mail addresses are in the form: Scandinavian characters are replaced by: ä=a, ö=o, å=a.