Unit for South-Eastern Europe and EU Enlargement

The Unit covers with issues concerning the following countries:

Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Greece, Holy See, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and Turkey.

Twinning and TAIEX activities also include: Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Egypt, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Moldova, Palestine, Syria, Tunis, Ukraine and Russia.

The Unit is responsible for the following issues:

  • negotiations concerning EU enlargement and related issues
  • coordination of the Instrument for Pre-accession Assistance (IPA) in respect of the Western Balkans
  • national coordination, guidance and advice related to EU Twinning and TAIEX activities
  • political, trade political, economic and development cooperation issues related to bilateral relations and EU relations within the competence of the unit
  • guidance of the Finnish missions based in the countries of the region
  • coordination of Finnish development policy and project cooperation in the Western Balkans and Turkey
  • the Stabilisation and Association Process (SAP) and the Peace Process in the Western Balkans
  • the Stability Pact for South-Eastern Europe (SP SEE)


  • EUR-40@formin.fi


  • +358 9 160 555 650


Markku Lampinen
  • +358 295 350 164

Western-Balkans, EU Enlargement, Romania, Bulgaria Team

Keijo Karjalainen
Desk Officer
Serbia, Kosovo, Montenegro
Deputy Director, Team Leader
  • +358 295 352 030
Unna Mustalampi
Desk Officer
Croatia, Slovenia, Romania, Bulgaria, Holy See
  • +358 295 350 271
Heli Pelttari
Desk Officer
  • +358 295 351 422

Turkey, Greece, Cyprus Team

Aleksi Vakkuri
Team Leader
  • +358 295 350 627
Esko Männistö
Desk Officer
Cyprus, Greece, Migration
  • +358 295 350 579
Minja Nieminen
Desk Officer
Turkey - Economic Affairs and Team Finland coordination
  • Minja.Nieminen@formin.fi
Sini Suonpää
Desk Officer
  • +358 295 350 434

National Twinning and Taiex Coordination Team

The Twinning Team of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs helps agencies with the preparation and implementation of projects. You can contact us whenever you need more information on Twinning.

Tiina Järvelä
Twinning coordination
  • +358 295 351 555
Eerikki Vainio
TAIEX coordination
  • +358 295 350 363

E-mail addresses are in the form: forename.surname@formin.fi. Scandinavian characters are replaced by: ä=a, ö=o, å=a.