Unit for European Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP)

The Unit for European Common Foreign and Security Policy is responsible for:

  • participating in the preparation of the EU's Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and coordinating matters related to it in the Ministry and in the national preparation process
  • preparations for the EU Foreign Affairs Council (FAC) meetings, and coordinating the guidance given by the EU Political and Security Committee (COPS/PSC) and the Working Party of Foreign Relations Counsellors (RELEX)
  • tasks related to the work of the network of European Correspondents
  • following the circulation of messages concerning the EU's CFSP in the protected COREU communication network between the EU member states and institutions, and sending Finland's COREU communications (templates are prepared in the departments)
  • preparations for political consultations with EU member states
  • informing the Finnish Parliament on matters concerning the EU's CFSP


  • POL-30@formin.fi

Post address

Unit for European Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP)
PO Box 412

Visiting address

Laivastokatu 22 A

Matti Nissinen
Director, European Correspondent
European correspondent
  • +358 295 351 780
Lassi Härmälä
Desk Officer
  • +358 295 350 026
Anna-Mari Hämäläinen
Desk Officer
Eva-Christina Leisio
  • +358 295 350 144

E-mail addresses are in the form: forename.surname@formin.fi. Scandinavian characters are replaced by: ä=a, ö=o, å=a.