Department for Europe 

The Department for Europe covers issues concerning the following countries:

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina , Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, the Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Türkiye, and the United Kingdom.

The Department for Europe deals with:

  • Political, trade political, economic, and development cooperation issues related to bilateral relations, the EU's external relations, and multilateral institutions in respect of the countries in question
  • coordination of general EU matters, including its development and EU recruitments
  • EU enlargement
  • the Stabilisation and Association Process (SAP) in the Western Balkans
  • national coordination of EU-funded institution building projects (Twinning and TAIEX cooperation and secondment of experts to the administrations of EU countries affected by the economic crisis)
  • the development and coordination of Nordic cooperation, including the responsibilities of the Secretariat for Nordic Cooperation
  • coordination of Finland's Baltic Sea policy under the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR) and the Council for the Baltic Sea States (CBSS)
  • national coordination related to Finland's Strategy for the Arctic Region and the Arctic Council

Post address

Department for Europe 
PO Box 176

Visiting address

Laivastokatu 22 C, 4krs

E-mail addresses are in the form: Scandinavian characters are replaced by: ä=a, ö=o, å=a.