Representation agreements in visa matters

The Schengen member states can agree that one country represents another in visa matters. A separate agreement is concluded on the representation and on Finland's part it applies only to visa applications. Residence permit applications must always be lodged at a mission of Finland.

Schengen member states are Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

For example, when a national of a country whose citizens are subject to the visa requirement is staying in Vancouver and planning a visit to Finland, he or she can apply for the visa at the Consulate General of Switzerland in Vancouver.

Correspondingly, a visa national in Tunis planning a visit to Sweden can apply for a visa at the Embassy of Finland in Tunis.

Also in this website

Content administrator