Sustainable Trade Unit

Sustainable Trade Unit is responsible for

  • trade and the environment/climate, including circular economy, energy and raw materials in trade agreements; the Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism (CBAM); the Fossil Fuel Subsidy Reform; the WTO’s work on trade and environmental sustainability, including the Committee on Trade and Environment (CTE)
  • trade and labour standards, responsible business conduct, including anti-corruption work and gender equality in trade agreements
  • Generalised Scheme of Preferences (GSP)
  • trade and development questions and multilateral organisations responsible for them: UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), International Trade Centre (ITC), Enhanced Integrated Framework Programme, Advisory Centre on WTO Law (ACWL), UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), UN Global Compact, WTO Committee on Trade and Development and technical assistance
  • general coordination relating to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and national coordination of OECD matters
  • G7 and G20 countries, World Economic Forum (WEF), UN Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)
  • analysis and research related to trade policy
  • regional responsibility for Africa and the Middle East and Latin America




Kent Wilska
  • +358 295 351 522
Eeva Lahti
Desk Officer
  • +358 295 350 372
Lauri Kangasniemi
Commercial Secretary
  • +358 295 535 0262
Linda Piirto
Commercial Counsellor
  • +358 295 350 420
Antti Piispanen
Commercial Counsellor
  • +358 295 351 493
Malena Sell-Myllyoja
Commercial Secretary
  • +358 295 350 996

E-mail addresses are in the form: Scandinavian characters are replaced by: ä=a, ö=o, å=a.