Department for the Americas and Asia

The Department for the Americas and Asia handles issues related to the following countries:

The United States of America and Canada; Argentine, Brazil, Chile, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru and Venezuela and other Latin American and Caribbean countries; Afghanistan, China, Indonesia, India, Japan, North Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam and other countries in Asia; Australia, New Zealand and the rest of Oceania.

The Department deals with the following issues:

  • political, trade political, commercial and economic, and development cooperation issues related to bilateral relations, the EU's external relations, and multilateral institutions in respect of the countries in question;
  • regional organisations and other cooperation bodies;
  • transatlantic relations;
  • the EU's relations with regional cooperation arrangements based in Latin American and Caribbean and Asian countries.


  • +358 9 160 560 09

Post address

Department for the Americas and Asia
PO Box 176

Visiting address

Laivastokatu 22, G-talo, 2 krs