Unit for South-Eastern Europe

The Unit covers with issues concerning the following countries:

Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Greece, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and Turkey, Holy See.

Twinning and TAIEX activities also include: Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Egypt, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Moldova, Palestine, Syria, Tunis, Ukraine and Russia.

The Unit is responsible for the following issues:

  • negotiations concerning EU enlargement and related issues
  • coordination of the Instrument for Pre-accession Assistance (IPA) in respect of the Western Balkans
  • national coordination, guidance and advice related to EU Twinning and TAIEX activities
  • political, trade political, economic and development cooperation issues related to bilateral relations and EU relations within the competence of the unit
  • guidance of the Finnish missions based in the countries of the region
  • coordination of Finnish development policy and project cooperation in the Western Balkans and Turkey
  • the Stabilisation and Association Process (SAP) and the Peace Process in the Western Balkans
  • the Stability Pact for South-Eastern Europe (SP SEE)


Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Greece, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Turkey


  • +358 9 160 555 650


  • EUR-40@formin.fi
Markku Lampinen
Markku Lampinen
  • +358 295 350 164
Eerikki Vainio
TAIEX coordination

Western-Balkans, EU Enlargement, Romania, Bulgaria Team

Keijo Karjalainen
Keijo Karjalainen
Desk Officer
Serbia, Kosovo, Montenegro
  • +358 295 352 030
Unna Mustalampi
Desk Officer
Croatia, Slovenia, Romania, Bulgaria, Holy See
  • +358 295 350 271
Oona Hulmi
Desk Officer
  • +358 295 350 357

Turkey, Greece, Cyprus Team

Mika Ruotsalainen
Team Leader
  • +358 295 350 305
Esko Männistö
Desk Officer
Cyprus, Greece, Migration
  • +358 295 350 579

National Twinning and Taiex Coordination Team

Tiina Järvelä
Twinning coordination
  • +358 295 351 555

E-mail addresses are in the form: forename.surname@formin.fi. Scandinavian characters are replaced by: ä=a, ö=o, å=a.