Plenary meeting of the Missile Technology Control Regime 2000

The Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR) held its 15th Plenary Meeting in Helsinki, Finland, on 10 - 13 October, 2000, in order to review and strengthen its efforts to prevent missile proliferation. The meeting, which marked the start of the Finnish chairmanship, was officially opened by Mr Kimmo Sasi, Minister for Foreign Trade of Finland.

The MTCR was established in 1987 with the aim of controlling exports of missiles capable of delivering weapons of mass destruction, as well as relevant technology. Currently 32 countries* participate in the MTCR. Through their coordinated effort in the framework of the MTCR they have contributed to a reduction of the global missile proliferation threat. The MTCR Partners agreed that the risk of proliferation of weapons of mass destruction and their means of delivery is one of the major concerns and a threat to global and regional stability. This challenge is not limited to any specific region, but is a global concern. During the meeting they also continued to discuss responses to face the challenges posed by indigenous missile programs and missile exports.

Export controls continue to play an important role in efforts to face these challenges. The Partners agreed that the MTCR must continue to adapt itself to the developments of technology. The Partners renewed their commitment to implement strictly their export controls and expressed their readiness to strengthen them as necessary.

The MTCR will continue to engage in dialogue with non-Partners, encourage them to observer the MTCR Guidelines and consult them of the wider aspects of missile non-profileration.

The Partners continued their deliberations started in the previous Plenary in 1999 on a set of principles, commitments, confidence-building measures and incentives that could constitute a code of conduct against missile proliferation. They decided to approach countries outside of the MTCR in order to engage them in a broader common effort to agree on a multilateral instrument open to all States.

The Plenary welcomed the offer of Canada to host the next Plenary Meeting in Ottawa on 24-28 September 2001 and to serve as Chair of the MTCR for the subsequent year.

* Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States