Development cooperation ,14.12.2015

Southern African Innovation Support Programme (SAIS), phase II


SAIS (Southern African Innovation Support Programme) is a regional innovation support program which includes a group of Southern African countries. The network consists of member countries and the SADC. The overall objective of the second phase of the programme is enhanced regional innovation cooperation and national innovation systems of the participating countries contributing to the inclusive business and employment. This means support to new entrepreneurships, diversification of businesses and support towards the development of social and environmental solutions. The second phase of the programme will cover the years 2016-2020 and the Finnish contribution to the second phase is 9 300 000 euros. The partner network of SAIS I phase has consisted of four countries: Namibia, Botswana Mozambique and Zambia, with Southern African Development Community (SADC) as an institutional partner. The programme has built the base and model for deepening the innovation cooperation, engaged the partner countries, created networks and started important pilot projects as well as implemented capacity building activities. The first phase of the programme has reached over 6300 persons with regard to networking building. It has supported close to 150 companies. Over 2200 persons have attended training organized by the programme. Both the public and private sectors, research institutions and representatives of the civil society organisations have been represented in the activities of SAIS I.

Funding decision  14.12.2015

9 300 000 €

Objectives monitored by OECD's Development Assistance Committee

  • Participatory development/Good governance
  • Gender equality

Field of activity

  • Information and communication technology (ICT) 50%
  • Small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) development 50%

Special target group

  • women
  • youth



Code for the object of funding