Development cooperation ,12.11.2012

INT/Least Developed Countries Fund (LDCF)


The LDCF is a voluntary trust fund established under the UNFCCC, and managed by the GEF, to address the special needs of the 48 Least Developed Countries (LDCs) that are especially vulnerable to the adverse impacts of climate change. Specifically, the LDCF was tasked with financing the preparation and implementation of National Adaptation Programs of Action (NAPAs). NAPAs use existing information to identify a country’s priorities for adaptation actions. The LDCF is the only existing fund whose mandate is to finance the preparation and implementation of the NAPAs. As of October 1, 2012, a total of 47 NAPAs have been completed. To date, the fund has 25 donors: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States.

More information to another website.)

Funding decision  12.11.2012

4 000 000 €

Objectives monitored by OECD's Development Assistance Committee

  • Climate change - adaptation
  • Aid to environment

Field of activity

  • Environmental policy and administrative management 100%

Funding channel

Maailman ympäristörahasto



Code for the object of funding