Development cooperation ,29.06.2012

INT/Least Developed Countries Fund (LDCF)


The LDCF is a voluntary trust fund established under the UNFCCC, and managed by the GEF, to address the special needs of the 48 Least Developed Countries (LDCs) that are especially vulnerable to the adverse impacts of climate change. Specifically, the LDCF was tasked with financing the preparation and implementation of National Adaptation Programs of Action (NAPAs). NAPAs use existing information to identify a country’s priorities for adaptation actions. The LDCF is the only existing fund whose mandate is to finance the preparation and implementation of the NAPAs. As of May 01, 2012, a total of 47 NAPAs have been completed. As of March 31, 2012, pledges had been received from 25 Contributing Participants: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States. The total amount pledged to date is USDeq. 536.7 million.

Funding decision  29.06.2012

2 532 000 €

Objectives monitored by OECD's Development Assistance Committee

  • Climate change - adaptation
  • Aid to environment

Field of activity

  • Environmental policy and administrative management 100%

Funding channel

Maailman ympäristörahasto



Code for the object of funding