Agreement on a Testing Ground for Application of the Kyoto Mechanisms on Energy Projects in the Baltic Sea Region

Status of Ratification and Entry into Force

Agreement on a Testing Ground for Application of the Kyoto Mechanisms on Energy Projects in the Baltic Sea Region was adopted and opened for signature by Countries of the Baltic Sea Region (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia and Sweden) on 29 September 2003 in Gothenburg. In accordance with its Article 13, consent to be bound by the Agreement shall be expressed by (a) signature with the Depositary; or (b) signature subject to ratification, acceptance or approval followed by the deposit of an instrument of ratification, acceptance, approval with the Depositary; or (c) the deposit of an instrument of accession with the Depositary. The Agreement was open for signature until 31 December 2003. After its entry into force, the Agreement shall be open for accession by such Countries of the Baltic Sea Region which have not signed the Agreement, and by such parties to the Kyoto Protocol which are accepted by the Parties to the Agreement at the time of accession.

The list below contains the latest information concerning dates of signature, consent to be bound by the Agreement and entry into force. The column "Consent to be bound by the Agreement" indicates the dates when a consent to be bound by the Agreement is expressed by definitive signature (s) or the instrument of ratification (R), acceptance (A), approval (AA) or accession (a) is deposited with the Depositary. The column "Entry into force" indicates the dates when the Agreement enters into force for respective State.

State	Signature	Consent to be bound by	Entry into force
		the Agreement	
Denmark	29 September 2003	29 September 2003 (s)	1 February 2004
Estonia		3 March 2004 (a)	1 May 2004
Finland	29 September 2003	19 December 2003 (A)	1 February 2004
Germany	29 September 2003	29 September 2003 (s)	1 February 2004
Iceland	29 September 2003	19 January 2004 (R)	1 March 2004
Latvia	12 December 2003	12 December 2003 (s)	1 February 2004
Lithuania	29 September 2003	29 September 2003 (s)	1 February 2004
Norway	29 September 2003	29 September 2003 (s)	1 February 2004
Poland		28 December 2004 (a)	1 February 2005
Russian Federation			
Sweden	29 September 2003	29 September 2003 (s)	1 February 2004